Free Social Proof Tools (2026): 7 Free Plans Compared, Plus 5 That Are Only Trials

Seven social proof tools have a free plan you can keep, as of November 2, 2026. ProveSource is the one we would start with on most sites: it is free up to 1,000 visitors a month with every feature included, it works on any website, and when you pass the limit it pauses instead of billing you. The other six are free with tighter limits or on one platform only. Five more tools that show up in “free” searches are only trials, and they are listed at the end so you do not sign up for one by mistake.
ProveSource is our product. Every competitor fact below was read on that company’s own pricing page or app listing on November 2, 2026. For the full paid comparison, with every tier and feature, see our best social proof tools guide. This page covers free plans only.
Free social proof tools compared
| Tool | Free limit | Branding on free | Main things locked on free | Platforms | First paid plan |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| ProveSource | 1,000 visitors a month, unlimited impressions | Small ProveSource badge | Nothing, every feature included | Any website, Shopify app, WordPress plugin | $29/mo ($24 yearly), 20,000 visitors |
| Fomo (Shopify app) | 1,000 notifications a month, 1 website | Not stated | Larger notification volume | Shopify | $25/mo, 8,000 notifications |
| Nudgify | 1,000 unique impressions | Not stated (removal is an add-on on paid plans) | Some nudge types, some styling, more than 1 review | Most ecommerce platforms, unlimited sites | $9/mo, 10,000 impressions |
| NotificationX | No visitor cap, runs on your own WordPress | Not stated | Analytics, cross-domain notices, Zapier, Mailchimp, email and custom notifications | WordPress only | $37/yr for 1 site |
| Provely | 100 visitors a month, 1 domain | Yes, removed only on the $79 Scale plan | Higher visitor counts | Any website | $19/mo ($16 yearly), 10,000 visitors |
| ToastiBar | 5,000 impressions a month (unlimited for the first 14 days) | Yes, removed on paid plans | Analytics, AI setup | Shopify | $6.99/mo, unlimited impressions |
| Shapo (our sister product) | 15 testimonials, unlimited widgets | Yes | Imports from review platforms, branding removal | Any website | $29/mo |
Two of these count differently from the rest, and that changes what “free” means for your site.
Visitors or impressions: the limit that decides your free plan
A visitor limit counts people. An impression limit counts each time a notification appears. On a free plan, the difference is large.
Take a small store with 800 visitors a month. If a typical visitor reads three pages and sees one notification per page, that is 2,400 impressions. The store fits inside ProveSource’s 1,000-visitor free plan with room to spare, and inside ToastiBar’s 5,000 impressions. It runs past Nudgify’s 1,000 impressions and Fomo’s 1,000 notifications before the month is half over.
So before you compare caps, open your analytics and note two numbers: monthly unique visitors and pages per visit. Multiply them to get a rough impression count.
The 7 free plans
1. ProveSource: every feature free up to 1,000 visitors

ProveSource shows recent purchases, sign-ups, live visitor counts, reviews and totals like “214 people signed up this week”. It reads that activity from where it already happens: your Shopify or WooCommerce orders, Stripe, form submissions and 100+ other integrations. The free plan has the same notification types, targeting and conversion goals as the paid plans. You can see it running on a demo store first.
What the free plan leaves out: nothing feature-wise. The limits are the 1,000 monthly visitors and the small ProveSource badge on each notification. Impressions are unlimited, and you can use it on more than one site.
What happens at the limit: notifications stop showing to new visitors until the month resets. ProveSource does not upgrade you automatically, so a traffic spike never turns into a surprise invoice.
When people upgrade: when traffic passes 1,000 visitors a month, or when they want the badge gone. Starter is $29 a month, or $24 billed yearly, for 20,000 visitors. See the pricing page for higher tiers.
Low traffic tip: if you get few sales, use a Combo notification (“37 people bought this week”) instead of one-by-one sales popups. It counts real activity over 24 hours, 7 days or 30 days, so a small site still has something true to show.
2. Fomo: free on Shopify only
Fomo’s own website has no free plan, only a 14-day trial. Its Shopify app does: the free plan covers up to 1,000 notifications a month on one website, with sales popups, product and Google reviews, add-to-cart and abandoned cart popups, and geo-location. The app is rated 4.5 from 154 reviews.
What the free plan leaves out: volume. 1,000 notifications is the impression-style limit described above, so it suits stores with a few hundred visitors a month.
When people upgrade: Starter is $25 a month for 8,000 notifications. On Fomo’s website plans, automatic upgrades to the next tier are on by default when you go over. See our Fomo comparison.
3. Nudgify: free with 1,000 impressions
Nudgify’s free plan is capped at 1,000 unique site impressions and works on unlimited websites. Every integration is available. Its pricing page does not say whether the cap resets each month.
What the free plan leaves out: some nudge types in its library, some styling options, and review nudges are limited to one review.
When people upgrade: Lite is $9 a month or $90 a year for 10,000 impressions a month. Removing Nudgify branding is listed as an add-on. See our Nudgify comparison.
4. NotificationX: a free WordPress plugin
NotificationX runs inside WordPress, so there is no visitor or impression cap from an outside service. The free plugin on WordPress.org shows WooCommerce and Easy Digital Downloads sales, WordPress comments, WooCommerce reviews, download counts, notification bars and form notifications from Contact Form 7, Ninja Forms and WPForms. It has 30,000+ active installs and a 4.8 rating from 228 reviews.
What the free plan leaves out: analytics, cross-domain notices, email subscription and custom notifications, and integrations such as Zapier, Mailchimp, ConvertKit, Gravity Forms and Google Analytics. It also cannot cover anything outside your WordPress site, such as a Shopify store or a Stripe checkout.
When people upgrade: when they need analytics or one of the Pro integrations. The Individual plan was $37 a year for one site (regularly $49) when we checked. If your site is on WordPress and you also sell elsewhere, ProveSource’s WordPress plugin covers both from one account. See our NotificationX comparison.
5. Provely: free for 100 visitors
Provely is free for 100 monthly unique visitors on one domain. That is enough to try it on a new landing page, not to run it on a live store.
What the free plan leaves out: traffic, mostly. Branding stays on every plan below Scale.
When people upgrade: Starter is $19 a month, or $16 billed yearly, for 10,000 visitors. Removing Provely branding needs the Scale plan at $79 a month. See our Provely comparison.
6. ToastiBar: free on Shopify with 5,000 impressions
ToastiBar Sales Popup & Proof, by MakeProSimp, is a Shopify app that calls its free plan “100% free forever”. Impressions are unlimited for the first 14 days, then capped at 5,000 a month. The free plan includes sales popups, countdown timers, cart, review and low-stock popups. It is rated 4.9 from 542 reviews.
What the free plan leaves out: removing the app’s branding starts at Basic, and analytics and the AI setup tools start at the $12.99 Shopify plan.
When people upgrade: Basic is $6.99 a month for unlimited impressions without branding. It only works on Shopify, so it is no help for a WordPress site or a SaaS signup page.
7. Shapo: free testimonials and review widgets
Shapo is our sister product, and it does a different job from the six above. It collects testimonials and shows them in widgets, instead of showing live activity. The free plan holds up to 15 testimonials with unlimited widgets and Shapo branding.
What the free plan leaves out: importing reviews from other platforms and removing branding, both on Pro at $29 a month.
When people upgrade: when they pass 15 testimonials. Shapo can run next to a live activity tool such as ProveSource, since the two show different things.
Which free plan fits your site
- Any website under 1,000 visitors a month: ProveSource. Every feature, no impression cap, no automatic upgrade.
- WordPress only, and you never want an outside service: NotificationX’s free plugin, accepting that analytics are Pro.
- WordPress plus a store, checkout or landing pages elsewhere: ProveSource, so one account covers all of them.
- A Shopify store: ProveSource’s Shopify app if you want reviews, live visitors and totals as well as sales. ToastiBar if you want only sales popups and expect more than 5,000 impressions a month.
- A brand-new landing page with almost no traffic: ProveSource or Provely. Provely’s 100 visitors run out quickly once you send ads to the page.
- Testimonials rather than live activity: Shapo, alongside a live activity tool.
If you are after urgency more than trust, such as countdowns, stock levels and live visitor counts, our free FOMO tools guide compares those options.
These look free but are trials
These tools come up in searches for free social proof tools, but their pricing pages offer a trial or paid plans only.
| Tool | What you get without paying | Cheapest plan |
|---|---|---|
| Fomo (its own website) | 14-day trial | $25/mo, 8,000 notifications |
| WiserNotify | 7-day trial. Its pricing page says “There is no free plan” | $59/yr for 5,000 visitors, or $16/mo for 10,000 |
| TrustPulse | Paid plans only, with a 14-day money-back guarantee | $5/mo billed yearly (introductory), 1,500 visitors, 1 site |
| UseProof | 14-day trial | $29/mo ($24 yearly) for 1,000 visitors |
| Fera | Trial. Its pricing page says it no longer offers a free plan | $9/mo ($7 yearly) for 200 orders |
A trial is fine if you are ready to pay, but 7 or 14 days is rarely enough traffic to see whether notifications change your conversion rate. Our comparisons for WiserNotify, TrustPulse, UseProof and Fera have the detail.
Set up free social proof in 10 minutes
These are the steps for ProveSource’s free plan. No card is needed.
-
Sign up. Create a free account at console.provesrc.com with Google or an email address.
-
Pick your platform. The console asks which platform you use. Choose Shopify or WooCommerce to install the app or plugin, WordPress for the plugin, Google Tag Manager, or paste one line of JavaScript on any other site.

-
Create your first notification. Choose a type: Stream for recent purchases or sign-ups, Combo for totals, Counter for live visitors, Reviews for ratings from Google or Facebook, or Informational for a shipping or refund promise.
-
Tell it what to track. Connect your store or form, or point it at the thank-you page URL that marks a purchase or sign-up. Shopify and WooCommerce stores pull orders from the integration.
-
Choose where it shows. Pick the pages to show it on (product pages and pricing pages are a good start) and the pages to keep clean, such as checkout.
-
Match your design and launch. Set the colours, position and timing, then launch. Open a product page in a private window to check that the notification appears.
Once it is live, add a goal for your thank-you page so ProveSource can report how many conversions came from visitors who saw a notification. That is the number that tells you whether to keep it, on the free plan or any other.
Frequently asked questions
Is there a free social proof tool?
Yes. ProveSource is free up to 1,000 monthly visitors with every feature, on any website. Nudgify, Provely, the NotificationX WordPress plugin, Fomo’s Shopify app and ToastiBar on Shopify also have free plans, each with tighter limits or a single platform. Fomo’s own site, WiserNotify, TrustPulse, UseProof and Fera offer only trials or paid plans. Checked November 2, 2026.
Does ProveSource have a free plan?
Yes. The free plan covers 1,000 unique visitors a month with unlimited impressions and every notification type, including recent sales, Combo totals, live visitors and reviews. It shows a small ProveSource badge. Over the limit, notifications pause for new visitors until the month resets. Starter is $29 a month, or $24 billed yearly, for 20,000 visitors.
Is there a free FOMO app for Shopify?
Several. ProveSource’s Shopify app is free up to 1,000 visitors a month. Fomo’s Shopify app has a free plan for 1,000 notifications a month on one website, and ToastiBar is free for 5,000 impressions a month after its first 14 days. Fomo’s own website offers only a 14-day trial.
What is the difference between a visitor limit and an impression limit?
A visitor limit counts people. An impression limit counts every time a notification is shown. One visitor who reads three pages and sees a notification on each uses three impressions, so 800 visitors a month can use 2,400 impressions. ProveSource counts unique visitors and does not cap impressions.
Is there a free social proof plugin for WordPress?
Yes. NotificationX has a free plugin on WordPress.org with WooCommerce sales, review and form notifications, while analytics and cross-domain notices are Pro. ProveSource’s WordPress plugin connects to the free ProveSource plan, which also covers stores, forms and checkouts outside WordPress.
Do free plans show fake notifications?
A free plan does not decide that, the setup does. Some tools let you type in invented orders, which misleads shoppers. ProveSource builds notifications from real activity it tracks or imports from your store, forms and review sites, on the free plan as on paid ones.




